Let’s move a congressional roadblock

Well, the election is over, and we still have the same players as before. It’s time for “We the People” to do something to help break the gridlock and grease the wheels of our Congress. So here’s the plan.

Grover Norquist’s Americans for Tax Reform had Republican members of both houses sign a pledge to the taxpayers of their state to “oppose any and all efforts to increase the marginal income tax rates, and to oppose any net reduction or elimination of deductions and credits unless matched dollar for dollar by further reducing tax rates.”

The following North Carolina elected officials have signed that pledge: Sen. Richard Burr, Reps. Richard Hudson (NC-08), Renee Ellmers (NC-02), Robert Pittenger (NC-09), Walter Jones Jr. (NC-03), Patrick McHenry (NC-10), Virginia Foxx (NC-05), Mark Meadows (NC-11), Howard Coble (NC-06) and George Holding (NC-13).

You need to send each an email saying, “I am a North Carolina taxpayer, and I hereby release you from the Americans for Tax Reform pledge you signed. Therefore, I expect you to back any reasonably balanced bill to reduce our deficit.”

Send a copy to Norquist at ideas@atr.com and BCC all local media. Then print two copies of each email and mail them.

— Ben Andrews
Greensboro, N.C.


Thanks for reading through to the end…

We share your inclination to get the whole story. For the past 25 years, Xpress has been committed to in-depth, balanced reporting about the greater Asheville area. We want everyone to have access to our stories. That’s a big part of why we've never charged for the paper or put up a paywall.

We’re pretty sure that you know journalism faces big challenges these days. Advertising no longer pays the whole cost. Media outlets around the country are asking their readers to chip in. Xpress needs help, too. We hope you’ll consider signing up to be a member of Xpress. For as little as $5 a month — the cost of a craft beer or kombucha — you can help keep local journalism strong. It only takes a moment.

About Webmaster
Mountain Xpress Webmaster Follow me @MXWebTeam

Before you comment

The comments section is here to provide a platform for civil dialogue on the issues we face together as a local community. Xpress is committed to offering this platform for all voices, but when the tone of the discussion gets nasty or strays off topic, we believe many people choose not to participate. Xpress editors are determined to moderate comments to ensure a constructive interchange is maintained. All comments judged not to be in keeping with the spirit of civil discourse will be removed and repeat violators will be banned. See here for our terms of service. Thank you for being part of this effort to promote respectful discussion.

Leave a Reply

To leave a reply you may Login with your Mountain Xpress account, connect socially or enter your name and e-mail. Your e-mail address will not be published. All fields are required.