Terry Van Duyn, Democrat Incumbent, NC Senate District 49.

Terry Van Duyn

Terry Van Duyn (I), Democrat votevanduyn.com Place of residence: Biltmore Forest Occupation: Retired system programmer Political experience: One year appointed State Senator; one term elected State Senator; N.C. Senate Democratic Whip Endorsements: AFL-CIO; Equality NC (recipient of 2016 Legislator of the Year Award); League of Conservation Voters (recipient of 2015 Green Tie Award); Lillian’s List […]

From left to right: Tom Apodaca, Rick Wood, Terry Van Duyn, Mark Crawford. Photos by Halima Flynt

Local North Carolina Senate candidates wrangle over issues

Candidates hoping to represent Western North Carolina in the state Senate debated Oct. 16 at UNC Asheville, highlighting differences on a range of issues, from education and the economy to the environment. Here’s a look at the candidates and their views. District 49 In the District 49 race, Democratic Sen. Terry Van Duyn and Republican Mark Crawford are vying […]